Texans have done amazing work--but more remains

You, the community of supporters of health care for every Texan, have done amazing work for 1.5 million uninsured Texans. You called and emailed, rallied and wrote letters. Your efforts led to a solid majority of House lawmakers registering support for the health care solution bill this week. Unfortunately, though, one of our best opportunities to get this done was taken away. HB 3791, the bill by Rep. John Zerwas that would expand health care coverage to low-income Texans, will not make it to the House floor for a vote.

There are a lot of ways for a bill to die, but this one met a particularly unsatisfying end without an up-or-down vote when a group of powerful leaders stepped in to make sure the bill never appeared before the House chamber.

We will continue to work on a way to get these Texans covered and will report back to you soon. In the meantime, to voice your discontent to those few who killed this bill, contact the governor and the Speaker of the House, and members of the Texas Calendars Committee.

Say: Texas still needs a health care solution so over 1 million fellow Texans can have coverage!

Governor Perry: (888) 503-1874

Speaker Straus: (512) 463-1000

Calendars Committee Contact information:

Chair: Rep. Todd Hunter Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0672 District Phone: (361) 949-4603 Email Address: [email protected]

Vice Chair: Rep. Eddie Lucio III Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0606 District Phone: (956) 365-4458 Email Address: eddie.lucio_iii@house.state.tx.us Rep. Roberto R. Alonzo Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0408 District Phone: (214) 942-7104 Email Address: [email protected]

Rep. Carol Alvarado Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0732 District Phone:(713) 649-6563 Email Address: [email protected]

Rep. Dan Branch Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0367 District Phone: (214) 745-5768 Email Address: dan.branch@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Angie Chen Button Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0486 District Phone: (972) 234-8980 Email Address: [email protected]

Rep. Byron Cook Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0730 District Phone: (512) 463-0730 Email Address: [email protected]

Rep. Myra Crownover Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0582 District Phone: (940) 321-0013 Email Address: [email protected]

Rep. Sarah Davis Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0389 District Phone: (713) 521-4474 Email Address: [email protected]

Rep. Craig Eiland Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0502 District Phone: (800) 345-2630 Email Address: [email protected]

Rep. John Frullo Capitol Phone: (512) 463- 0676 District Phone: (806) 763-2366 Email Address:[email protected]

Rep. Charlie Geren Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0610 District Phone: (817) 738-8333 Email Address: [email protected] Rep. Helen Giddings Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0953 District Phone: (972) 224-6795 Email Address: helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Kuempel Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0602 District Phone: (830) 379-8732 Email Address:[email protected]

Rep. Doug Miller Capitol Phone: (512) 463-0325 District Phone: (830) 625-1313 Email Address: doug.miller@house.state.tx.us

Written by: Mimi Garcia, Engage Texas